About Us

Maine ACEP is the local chapter of national ACEP, the American College of Emergency Physicians. Founded in 1972, the chapter actively represents more than 200 emergency physicians, residents and medical students in Maine.

We are actively involved in a wide range of issues that matter to emergency physicians and our patients, including emergency medical services, public health and safety, and disaster preparedness and response.

Our mission includes:

  • To be the voice of emergency medicine in the state of Maine
  • To increase respect in the house of medicine by providing leadership at the local, state and national levels
  • To respond to the practice needs of our members through education, information and advocacy
  • To provide a forum for social interaction and networking with other emergency physicians from around the state

Chapter Officers 
President: James Mullen, MD, FACEP
President Elect: Garreth Debiegun, MD, FACEP
Treasurer: David Stuchiner, MD, FACEP
Past President: Thomas Dancoes, DO, FACEP

Board of Directors 
Thomas Dancoes, DO, FACEP
Garreth Debiegun, MD, FACEP
James Mullen, MD, FACEP
David Stuchiner, MD, FACEP

Charles Pattavina, MD, FACEP
Garreth Debiegun, MD
Thomas Dancoes, DO, FACEP

Alternate Councillors 
James Mullen, MD, FACEP
Marcus Riccioni, MD, FACEP

EMRA Representative
Jason Block, MD

Chapter Executive
Maureen Elwell