About the Maine Chapter

Chapter Mission

Maine ACEP is the local chapter of national ACEP, the American College of Emergency Physicians. Founded in 1972, the chapter actively represents more than 200 emergency physicians, residents and medical students in Maine. We are actively involved in a wide range of issues that matter to emergency physicians and our patients, including emergency medical services, public health and safety, and disaster preparedness and response. (Maine FAQ)

The Maine ACEP mission includes:

  • To be the voice of emergency medicine in the state of Maine
  • To increase respect in the house of medicine by providing leadership at the local, state and national levels
  • To respond to the practice needs of our members through education, information and advocacy
  • To provide a forum for social interaction and networking with other emergency physicians from around the state

Chapter Leadership

James Mullen, MD, FACEP  –  President
Garreth Debiegun, MD, FACEP  –  President-Elect
David Stuchiner, MD, FACEP  –  Secretary/Treasurer
Thomas Dancoes, DO, FACEP  –  Immediate Past President

Charles Pattavina, MD, FACEP
Garreth Debiegun, MD, FACEP
Thomas Dancoes, DO, FACEP

Alternate Councillors 
James Mullen, MD, FACEP
Marcus Riccioni, MD, FACEP
Nathan Donaldson, DO, FACEP

EMRA Representative
Eric Maughan, MD

Chapter Executive Director
Cathryn Stratton